Ashtang Yoga


In the beginning there was darkness, and darkness was covered with darkness. Then came the light with the sound OM. And om gave rise to the word knowledge which got compiled as the Vedas.

In the hierarchy of the vedic knowledge there are four Vedas

  • Rig Veda
  • Sama Veda
  • Atharva Veda
  • Yajur Veda

Then comes four Sub – Vedas

  • Ayur Veda
  • Artha Veda
  • Dhanur Veda
  • Gandharva Veda

Then six components

  • Shiksha
  • Kalpa
  • Vyakarana
  • Nirukta
  • Chandas
  • Jyotisha

Six sub components

  • Nyaya
  • Vaiseshika
  • Sankhya
  • Yoga
  • Mimansa
  • Vedanta

Out of which one is YOGA

There are several types of yoga:

  • Gyan Yoga
  • Bhakti Yoga
  • Karma Yoga
  • Hatha Yoga
  • Raj Yoga
  • Mantra Yoga
  • Shiva Yoga
  • Naad Yoga
  • Laya Yoga

And many more…

Rig Veda is one of the most sacred and the oldest books of human history. It is around eight to ten thousand old and yoga is the part of this vedic literature. Maharishi Patanjali considered to be the authority on yoga propounded yoga nearly 5000 years ago. Lord Krishna and many saints of India have also spoken about yoga.

In the middle ages the practice of yoga was confined only to the royal and the scholarly class. It was taught to the student of gurukuls after passing with rigorous tests. In the recent years in the presence of various spiritual and religious leaders of india the doors of yoga have been opened to the common man and to each and every human being on the this planet.

Yoga is the union of body, mind and spirit. The individual o the universe Yoga is realizing the connection with the finite and the infinite to manifest and the un manifest. yoga is breaking harmony in thought, word and action and helps clearing our intentions.

Maharishi Patanjali elucidated eight limbs of yoga – ashtang yoga

  • Yama – social Ethics
  • Niyama – personal Ethics
  • Asana – postures
  • Pranayama – directing the life force
  • Pratyahara – turning the senses inwards
  • Dharna – one pointed focus
  • Dhyana – meditation
  • Samadhi – merging with the self

Somehow, in today’s age yoga has become associated with only physical postures. Whereas, the central teaching of yoga is mainataining an equanimous state of mind.

The bhagvat gita says, Yogah Karamasu KAUSHALAM; meaning yoga is a skill in action and expression. yoga is not just an exercise, it is how skillfully we communicate and act in any given situation . yoga is described more as a mind skill. It means you can be watching a sun set, doing your job in office or cooking at home. If you are doing it out of joy and love, you are a yogi – a karma yogi. The same action devoid of any love or care is not yoga.

Krishna says in the bhagvat gita samaktam yog ishte – equanimity in the mind is a sign of yoga. The ability to remain centered in adverse situation is yoga. Whatever brings us back to our nature which is harmony and joy is yoga.

While postures make the mind healthy, pranayama and meditation take the mind deep within. Uniting diverse aspects of life of existence is yoga.

Wonderment is the preface to yoga

Vismayayoga yogbhoomika the wow experience, many a times is attribute to yoga. Anyone engrossed in anything doing is yoga. Tada drastuh swaroope awasthanam – yoga is established in the seer. From the scenery we come back to the seer. When one is in harmony in within the journey of life is calmer, happier and more fulfilling. Life starts flowing in the direction to unite to its very source.

Reference : artofliving


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here